Innovation Initiatives

Since 2017, our Innovation Initiatives have supported Ontario's child and youth mental health agencies to turn their bold ideas into potential solutions to improve service quality and access so that Ontario's children, youth and families have the best possible mental health care experiences.

Successful applicants are supported with up to $50,000 to implement new, evidence-based or promising practices that demonstrate potential for broader impact in the provincial child and youth mental health system. We also provide funded project groups with tailored coaching supports to implement and evaluate their initiatives.

Browse previous projects

Innovation Initiatives support mental health from infancy to early adulthood. Collectively, these projects are addressing barriers such as wait time, culture and language, stigma, geography and health literacy.

2017–18

Our first round of grants supported six potential solutions to some of our sector's trickiest challenges. View the 2017–18 project summaries.

2018–19

Our second round supported 10 innovative projects in organizations across the province. View the 2018–19 project summaries.

2019–20

For the third round, we narrowed our focus and supported seven projects specifically addressing access issues in their communities. View the 2019–20 project summaries.

2021–22

This time around, we asked that projects address one or more key recommendations from our Transition to virtual care report. The projects selected will be adding to, or improving, their virtual service offerings to better serve their clients now and post-pandemic. View the 2021–22 project summaries.

Apply for Innovation Initiative funding

Do you have ideas about how to address the Ontario child and youth mental health system's most pressing priorities?

While we don't have a competition open right now, feel free to check back here for information on our next call for proposals from time to time.

Impact grants

Together with Mental Health Research Canada, we bridge the gap between the child and youth mental health community-based agencies and researchers from academia. Our joint impact grants bring these key players together to explore new solutions and novel approaches that have the potential to improve service quality and access in Ontario — and hopefully, beyond.

Successful applicants are supported with up to $100,000 to test out their bold ideas.

Browse previous projects

COVID-19 response

The COVID-19 pandemic led to the implementation of innovative solutions as we continued to support children, young people and families in times of uneasiness and physical distancing. That’s why we called on researchers and agencies to test out big and novel ideas that emerged in response to the pandemic. More specifically, we asked them to help us understand the mental health impacts of COVID-19 on children and young people, with a focus on families from vulnerable groups who experience challenges in accessing and receiving high-quality mental health care. Learn more about the project we are supporting.

E-mental health

We are convinced that in today’s digital world, there are undiscovered or underexploited technological solutions for many of the barriers and challenges that Ontario’s children, youth and families face as they seek mental health help. In 2020 we offered three grants to explore the use of technology to enhance or support child and youth mental health in Ontario — and, ideally, beyond! Learn more about the projects we are supporting.

Northern communities

Accessing mental health and addictions services can be challenging, and even more so in remote or northern communities, where there are fewer service providers. That’s why we called on leaders in northern Ontario to propose innovative solutions with the potential to improve access to mental health services for children, young people and families in their communities.  Learn more about the selected project.

Initiatives en matière d'innovation

Depuis 2017, notre programme « Initiatives en matière d'innovation » aide les organismes de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents de l'Ontario à transformer leurs idées audacieuses en solutions potentielles afin que les enfants, les adolescents et les familles de la province vivent les meilleures expériences possible en matière de soins de santé mentale.

Les candidats retenus bénéficient d'une aide financière pouvant aller jusqu'à 50 000 $ pour mettre en œuvre des pratiques nouvelles ou prometteuses fondées sur des données probantes, qui pourraient accroitre l'impact sur le système de santé mentale pour l'enfance et la jeunesse de la province. Les groupes de projet qui bénéficient d'une aide financière reçoivent également du mentorat personnalisé pour la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation de leurs initiatives.

Parcourir les projets financés

Les Initiatives en matière d'innovation appuient la santé mentale de la petite enfance au début de l'âge adulte. Collectivement, ces projets s'attaquent aux obstacles, comme les temps d'attente, la culture et la langue, la stigmatisation, l'éloignement, la culture de la santé, etc.

2017–2018

Notre premier cycle de subventions a soutenu six solutions potentielles à certains des problèmes les plus délicats de notre secteur. Consulter les résumés de projets 2017–2018.

2018–2019

Notre deuxième cycle a appuyé dix projets novateurs dans des organismes de toute la province. Consulter les résumés de projets 2018–2019.

2019–2020

Dans le cadre de notre troisième cycle, nous avons concentré notre champ d'action et appuyé sept projets portant spécifiquement sur des questions d'accès dans les communautés. Consulter les résumés de projets 2019–2020.

2021–2022

Pour cette ronde de financement, nous avons demandé que les projets tiennent compte d’une ou de plusieurs recommandations de notre récent rapport Transition vers les soins virtuels. Les projets choisis ajouteront de nouveaux services aux offres de soins virtuels ou amélioreront des services déjà existants afin de mieux servir la clientèle maintenant et après la pandémie. Consulter les résumés de projets 2021-2022.

Faire une demande de financement pour une initiative en matière d'innovation

Avez-vous des idées sur la façon de répondre aux priorités les plus urgentes du système de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents de l'Ontario?

Bien que nous n'ayons pas de concours ouvert pour le moment, n'hésitez pas à revenir ici pour des informations sur notre prochain appel de propositions de temps en temps.

Subventions

En association avec Recherche en santé mentale Canada, nous comblons l’écart entre les organismes communautaires de santé mentale pour les enfants et les jeunes et les chercheurs universitaires. Nos subventions à incidence conjointe réunissent ces intervenants clés pour explorer de nouvelles solutions et approches pouvant améliorer la qualité des services et l’accès en Ontario, et, espérons-le, au-delà.

Les candidats retenus reçoivent jusqu’à 100 000 $ pour mettre à l’épreuve leurs idées audacieuses.

Parcourir les projets précédents

Réponse à la COVID-19

La pandémie de COVID-19 a mené à la mise en œuvre de solutions novatrices afin de continuer à soutenir les enfants, les jeunes et les familles en ces temps d’inquiétude et d’éloignement physique. C’est pourquoi nous avons fait appel au milieu de la recherche et aux organismes communautaires en santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes afin de mettre à l’essai les grandes idées novatrices qui ont vu le jour en réponse à la pandémie. Plus précisément, nous leur avons demandé de nous aider à comprendre les répercussions de la COVID-19 sur la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, particulièrement ceux dont les familles appartiennent à des groupes vulnérables qui éprouvent des difficultés à accéder à des soins de haute qualité en santé mentale. Apprenez-en davantage sur le projet que nous soutenons.

Nouvelles technologies en santé mentale

Nous sommes convaincus que, dans le monde numérique d’aujourd’hui, il existe des solutions technologiques inconnues ou sous-exploitées pour bon nombre des obstacles et des défis auxquels font face les enfants, les jeunes et les familles de l’Ontario lorsqu’ils cherchent de l’aide en santé mentale. En 2020, nous avons offert trois subventions pour explorer l’utilisation de la technologie afin d’améliorer ou d’appuyer la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents en Ontario, et idéalement au-delà des frontières de la province! Apprenez-en davantage sur les projets que nous soutenons.

Communautés du Nord de l’Ontario

L’accès aux services de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances peut être difficile, et c’est encore plus vrai dans les communautés éloignées, où il y a moins de fournisseurs de services. C’est pourquoi nous avons demandé aux leaders du Nord de l’Ontario de proposer des solutions novatrices susceptibles d’améliorer l’accès aux services de santé mentale pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles dans leur communauté. Apprenez-en davantage sur le projet retenu.