Policy papers

Our policy papers provide more in-depth evidence, analysis and recommendations for action on pressing issues in child and youth mental health in Ontario.

Access and wait times

No more, no less: Brief mental health services for children and youth

2012

As multiple ministries work together to grapple with challenges impacting access and wait times, this paper provides policy recommendations focused on the implementation and delivery of timely, high quality and accessible short-term services to children and youth in Ontario.

 

Access and wait times in child and youth mental health: A background paper 

2010

The policy paper gives an overview of the research on access and barriers to mental health care and provides recommendations for improving access to child and youth mental health care in Ontario.

Care pathways

Paving the path to connected care: Strengthening the interface between primary care and community-based child and youth mental health services

2017

This paper outlines recommendations to establish collaborative and integrated care partnerships between primary care providers and community-based mental health service providers to improve access to care, quality of care and mental health care outcomes of children and youth across the province.

 

Pathways to care for youth with concurrent mental health and substance use disorders

2014

This paper provides policy recommendations around improving services for young people in Ontario between the ages 12 of 24 years old who have concurrent mental health and substance use disorders.

Digital and e-mental health solutions

Using technology to deliver mental health services to children and youth in Ontario 

2013

Drawing from literature on the use of technology in mental health service provision, this paper identifies policy and decision makers' perspectives and provides policy recommendations around using technology to deliver mental health services to youth in Ontario.

Early childhood

Beyond building blocks: Investing in the lifelong mental health of Ontario's three- to six-year-olds

2019

Investing in the mental health of children aged three to six yields benefits to children, families and the healthcare system. In collaboration with Infant Mental Health Promotion and School Mental Health Ontario (formerly School Mental Health ASSIST), we've outlined eight key recommendations to support positive mental health promotion in Ontario's three- to six-year-olds.

 

Supporting Ontario's youngest minds: Investing in the mental health of children under 6

2014

This paper focuses on infant and early childhood mental health service availability and accessibility in Ontario, including evidence-informed policy recommendations to strengthen infant and early childhood mental health services in the province.

Planning and governance

Adding it all up: A value-based planning process for child and youth mental health services

2015

This paper proposes an answer to the question posed by the (former) Ministry of Children and Youth Services (MCYS) and lead agencies: How can lead agencies best allocate their resources across the seven core services?

 

Governance for agencies in Ontario's transitioning child and youth mental health sector

2014

This paper is intended to support the work of policy and decision makers, who may use this information to develop policies aimed at strengthening the overall operations and accountability of lead and service agencies in Ontario's transitioning child and youth mental health system.

School-based mental health

Taking mental health to school: A policy-oriented paper on school-based mental health for Ontario

2009

An overview of the research on school-based prevention intervention and treatment for mental health disorders and substance abuse as well as policy recommendations for moving forward successfully with future directions in school-based mental health services.

 

Scanning the practice landscape in school-based mental health

2009

This scan provides a snapshot of the school-based mental health practice landscape within the province in 2009.

Services for special interest groups

Policy recommendations for services impacting francophones, newcomers and transition-aged youth.

 

Pourquoi pas? Strengthening French language service delivery in Ontario's child and youth mental health sector

2017

Addressing the experiences of francophones in Ontario is critical to fulfilling the goal for all children, youth, families and the service providers supporting them to know what mental health services are available in their communities and how to access these supports when and where they need them. This policy paper identifies the unique strengths and needs of Ontario's francophone population within the transforming child and youth mental health system and provides evidence-informed recommendations to guide French language service delivery for the province's francophone children, youth and families.

 

Taking action on health equity and diversity: Responding to the mental health needs of children, youth and families new to Canada

2015

Bringing together the latest evidence from research as well as the experiences of service providers and users, this policy paper will help policy leaders and decision makers better understand and respond to the mental health needs of newcomer children, youth and families in their local communities.

 

We've got growing up to do: Transitioning youth from child and adolescent mental health services to adult mental health services

2011

This paper provides policy recommendations for improving services for transitioning youth entering the adult mental health system.

Archive

Getting our acts together: Interagency collaborations in child and youth mental health

2009

Reviewing the literature, this policy paper outlines how child and youth mental health organizations can operate more seamlessly to provide mental health services in Ontario.

 

The roots of violence: Evidence from the literature with emphasis on child and youth mental health disorder

2008

This report outlines the relationship between mental health, emotional and behavioural challenges and perpetration of violence in youth, and the potential implications this relationship may have on public policy.

 

Rooting mental health in an Aboriginal worldview: Inspired by “Many hands one dream”

2008

This paper outlines an Indigenous worldview on mental health and well-being as well as specific policy recommendations to improve the mental health of Indigenous children, youth and communities.

 

Linking poverty and mental health: A lifespan view

2008

Informed by literature examining the relationship between poverty and child and youth mental health, this policy paper aims to help policy leaders and decision makers understand the relationship between poverty and mental health in children, youth and families.

Documents de politique

Nos documents de politique fournissent des données probantes, des analyses et des recommandations plus approfondies sur les questions urgentes en matière de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents en Ontario, ainsi que des recommandations sur les mesures à prendre.

Accès et temps d'attente

Pas plus ni moins : services brefs dans le domaine de la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents

2012

Plusieurs ministères travaillent ensemble pour relever les défis qui ont une incidence sur l'accès et les temps d'attente. Ce document présente des recommandations stratégiques axées sur la mise en œuvre et la prestation de services à court terme opportuns, de grande qualité et accessibles aux enfants et aux jeunes de l'Ontario.

 

L'accès et les temps d'attente en santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents : document d'information 

2010

Ce document donne un aperçu de la recherche sur l'accès et les obstacles aux soins et formule des recommandations pour améliorer l'accès aux soins de santé mentale pour les enfants et les jeunes en Ontario.

Voies d'accès aux soins

Ouvrir la voie aux soins connectés : renforcer l'interface entre les soins primaires et les services de santé mentale communautaires pour enfants et adolescents 

2017

Ce document présente des recommandations visant à établir des partenariats de soins collaboratifs et intégrés entre les prestataires de soins primaires et les prestataires de services communautaires de santé mentale. Ce partenariat visera à améliorer l'accès aux soins, la qualité des soins et les résultats des soins de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents dans toute la province.

 

Chemins d'accès aux soins pour les jeunes atteints de troubles concomitants de santé mentale et de toxicomanie 

2014

Ce document contient des recommandations stratégiques visant à améliorer les services offerts aux jeunes de 12 à 24 ans de l'Ontario qui ont des troubles concomitants de santé mentale et de toxicomanie.

Solutions numériques de santé mentale et de cybersanté mentale

Utiliser les technologies pour offrir des services en santé mentale aux enfants et aux adolescents en Ontario

2013

S'inspirant de la documentation sur l'utilisation de la technologie dans la prestation des services en santé mentale, ce document présente le point de vue des décideurs et des responsables des politiques et formule des recommandations stratégiques sur l'utilisation de la technologie pour offrir des services de santé mentale aux jeunes en Ontario.

Petite enfance

Au-delà des pierres d’assise : investir dans la santé mentale future des enfants de trois à six ans de l'Ontario 

2019

Investir dans la santé mentale des enfants de trois à six ans est bénéfique pour les enfants, les familles et le système de santé. En collaboration avec Infant Mental Health Promotion et Santé mentale en milieu scolaire Ontario, nous avons formulé huit recommandations clés pour appuyer la promotion positive de la santé mentale chez les enfants de trois à six ans en Ontario.

 

Soutenir les esprits les plus jeunes de l'Ontario : investir dans la santé mentale des enfants de moins de 6 ans 

2014

Ce document porte sur la disponibilité et l'accessibilité des services de santé mentale pour les nourrissons et les jeunes enfants en Ontario, y compris des recommandations stratégiques fondées sur des données probantes visant à renforcer ces services.

Planification et governance

Un processus de planification fondée sur la valeur des services dans le domaine de la santé mentale des enfants et adolescents 

2015

Ce document offre une réponse à la question formulée par (l'ancien) ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse (MSEJ) et les dirigeants d'organismes responsables : Comment les organismes responsables peuvent-ils mieux répartir leurs ressources au sein des sept principaux services?

 

La gouvernance dans le cadre de la transition du secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes de l'Ontario

2014

Ce document vise à appuyer le travail des décideurs et des responsables des politiques pour élaborer des politiques visant à renforcer le fonctionnement global et la responsabilisation des organismes responsables et des organismes de services dans le cadre de la transition du système ontarien de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents.

Santé mentale en milieu scolaire

La santé mentale à l'école : politique et santé mentale en milieu scolaire en Ontario 

2009

Un aperçu de la recherche sur les interventions de prévention en milieu scolaire et le traitement des troubles de santé mentale et d'abus d'alcool et d'autres drogues, ainsi que des recommandations stratégiques pour faire avancer avec succès les orientations futures des services de santé mentale en milieu scolaire.

 

Aperçu global de la pratique en matière de santé mentale dans le milieu scolaire 

2009

Cette analyse donne un aperçu du paysage de la pratique de la santé mentale en milieu scolaire dans la province en 2009.

Services destinés aux groupes d'intérêts spéciaux

Recommandations de politiques relativement aux services ayant un impact sur les francophones, les nouveaux arrivants et les jeunes âgés entre 19 et 25 ans.

 

Pourquoi pas? Renforcer la prestation de services offerts en français dans le secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents en Ontario 

2017

Il est essentiel de tenir compte de l'expérience des francophones de l'Ontario pour que tous les enfants, les jeunes et les familles ainsi que les fournisseurs de services qui les soutiennent sachent quels services de santé mentale sont offerts dans leur collectivité et comment accéder à ces services de soutien au moment et à l'endroit où ils en ont besoin. Ce document de politique établit les forces et les besoins uniques de la population francophone de l'Ontario au sein du système de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents en transformation et présente des recommandations fondées sur des données probantes pour guider la prestation de services en français aux enfants, aux adolescents et aux familles francophones de la province.

 

Agir pour l’équité et la diversité : Répondre aux besoins en matière de santé mentale des enfants, des jeunes et des familles nouvellement arrivés au Canada

2015

Basé sur les données les plus récentes issues de la recherche ainsi que sur les expériences des fournisseurs de services et des utilisateurs, ce rapport vise à aider les responsables des politiques et les décideurs à mieux comprendre les besoins en matière de santé mentale des enfants, des adolescents et des familles nouvellement arrivés dans leur collectivité locale, ainsi qu'à y répondre.

 

Parvenir à maturité : aider les jeunes à passer des services de santé mentale pour enfants et adolescents à ceux pour adultes 

2011

Ce document contient des recommandations stratégiques visant à améliorer les services offerts aux jeunes en transition qui entrent dans le système de santé mentale pour adultes.

Archive

Faire front commun : la collaboration interorganismes au service de la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents 

2009

En examinant la documentation, ce document de politique décrit comment les organismes de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents peuvent fonctionner de façon plus transparente pour fournir des services de santé mentale en Ontario.

 

L'origine de la violence : ce que révèle la documentation, particulièrement concernant la santé mentale des enfants et des ados 

2008

Ce rapport décrit la relation entre la santé mentale, les problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux et la violence chez les jeunes, ainsi que les répercussions possibles de cette relation sur les politiques publiques.

 

Ancrer la santé mentale dans une vision du monde autochtone : inspiré de « Rassemblés autour d'un rêve » 

2008

Ce document présente une vision du monde autochtone de la santé mentale et du bien-être ainsi que des recommandations stratégiques précises pour améliorer la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes issus de collectivités autochtones.

 

Le lien entre la pauvreté et la santé mentale : de l'enfance à l'âge adulte 

2008

Fondé sur la documentation sur la relation entre la pauvreté et la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents, ce document de politique vise à aider les responsables des politiques et les décideurs à comprendre la relation entre la pauvreté et la santé mentale chez les enfants, les adolescents et les familles.