Youth engagement is about empowering young people as valuable partners in child and youth mental health to address and make decisions that affect them personally or that they believe to be important. Engaging young people has been a priority for us from the beginning. Over the years, we have co-developed dozens of resources with young people. They're also integrated as important partners on all our key projects and initiatives, through our youth advisory council.

Why youth engagement matters

Evidence shows that when youth have a voice and an active role in treatment planning and service delivery, they experience better outcomes and greater satisfaction with care, and services are more cost-effective. A central goal of youth engagement is positive youth development. Through engagement, young people experience positive changes, enhance their ability to think critically and develop better teamwork and leadership skills.

What do we mean by “system-level engagement”? 

Ontario's child and youth mental health care system is made up of the many providers and organizations from different sectors, all delivering mental health services to children and youth. The system includes the networks and care pathways that connect them. It also includes the governments and other institutions that provide resources.

A care pathway helps guide children, youth and families to, through and out of care. It ensures that families get the right service at the right time and in the right way to best meet their child's or youth's mental health needs. In a high-quality mental health system, care pathways are accessible, efficient and effective. They reflect coordination between multiple providers and create better continuity of care.

Youth engagement at the system level is focused on improvements that affect these networks, pathways and resources, in addition to improvements within individual organizations.


youth engagement quality standard sealSetting the standard for youth engagement

Pursuing excellence demands that we define it. In 2018 we began developing a provincial quality standard for youth engagement in partnership with young people, families, clinicians and researchers from all over Ontario. Now that we have a draft standard, we're developing coaching and implementation resources to support organizations who want to put the standard into action.

 

What is a quality standard? 

A quality standard consists of several quality statements, or principles, that describe what the evidence says “high quality” looks like. It includes best practices and indicators to show progress and the impact of implementing those practices. Quality standards are a complement to accreditation standards and clinical practice guidelines from professional bodies.

Why do we need a quality standard on youth engagement? 

Over the past few years, more and more agencies have been working on youth engagement, but there isn't a shared understanding or a consistent set of practices to reflect what this looks like, especially at the system level. A quality standard is essential to a system that is accountable and constantly improving. It's also crucial to ensuring that Ontario children, youth and families receive high-quality mental health services wherever they are within the province.

Supporting provincial youth engagement efforts

With the energy and expertise of our in-house youth advisors and other staff, we have engaged hundreds of young people across the province. We've also worked with many organizations to build their capacity to practice meaningful youth engagement at the individual, organizational and system levels.

Youth Wellness Hubs Ontario Integrated Youth Services

Youth Wellness Hubs Ontario (YWHO) Integrated Youth Services is a network of one-stop shops where young people ages 12 to 25 can access the mental health and addictions services they need, when they need it. Youth engagement is an essential part of YWHO's co-developed and youth-driven model. This work is led by the Margaret and Wallace McCain Centre for Child, Youth and Family Health and the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)'s Provincial System Support Program (PSSP). We support meaningful youth engagement at their 10 local hub sites around Ontario, as well as at the provincial level.

The New Mentality

The New Mentality is a provincial network of youth and allies working to amplify youth voice to influence change within the mental health system. We helped establish the New Mentality in 2007 and have worked frequently with the network since then to promote and enhance youth engagement across the province.

Looking to start engaging youth or improve engagement?

Check out the quality standard for youth engagement and the resources that go along with it.

Get in touch with our engagement and standards team.

Walking the talk: A toolkit for engaging youth in mental health 
Our online youth engagement toolkit will give you a better understanding of how youth engagement can directly benefit youth, service areas and communities in Ontario's child and youth mental health sector. We've designed it to highlight the benefits, help you implement youth engagement initiatives in your agency and showcase the many youth engagement success stories from across the province.

 

Supporting youth: Good2Talk

Good2Talk is a free, confidential helpline for post-secondary students in Ontario. Callers can access anonymous professional counselling, as well as information and referrals for mental health and addictions services.

The Centre is one of four organizations behind Good2Talk, which is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development. We lead the evaluation component and develop training resources for Good2Talk staff.

L'engagement des jeunes consiste à donner plus de responsabilités aux enfants et aux adolescents comme partenaires importants en santé mentale pour qu'ils contribuent à prendre des décisions et à régler des questions qui les touchent personnellement ou qui sont importantes pour eux. L'engagement des jeunes constitue l'une de nos priorités depuis le début. Au fil des années, nous avons élaboré des dizaines de ressources avec des jeunes, qui sont également intégrés en tant qu'importants partenaires dans tous nos projets et toutes nos initiatives clés, par l'entremise de notre Conseil consultatif des jeunes.

L'importance de l'engagement des jeunes

Les données démontrent que lorsque les jeunes ont leur mot à dire et jouent un rôle actif dans la planification du traitement et la prestation des services, ils obtiennent de meilleurs résultats,sont plus satisfaits des soins et, par conséquent, les services sont plus économiques. L’un des principaux objectifs de l’engagement des jeunes est le développement positif des adolescents. Grâce à leur engagement, les jeunes vivent des changements positifs, améliorent leur esprit critique et développent de meilleures aptitudes au travail d’équipe et au leadership.

Qu'entendons-nous par « engagement systémique »?

Le système de soins de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents de l’Ontario est composé de nombreux fournisseurs et organismes de différents secteurs qui offrent tous des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux adolescents. Le système comprend les réseaux et les voies d’accès aux soins  qui les relient. Il est également constitué d’organismes gouvernementaux et d’autres établissements qui fournissent des ressources.

Les voies d'accès aux soins orientent les enfants, les adolescents et les familles vers les soins appropriés pendant la prestation des soins et après le congé du patient. Elles font en sorte que les familles obtiennent le service approprié au bon moment et de la bonne façon pour répondre de manière optimale aux besoins en santé mentale de leur enfant ou de leur adolescent. Dans un système de santé mentale de haute qualité, les voies d'accès aux soins sont accessibles, efficaces et efficientes. Elles résultent de la coordination entre de multiples prestataires et assurent une meilleure continuité des soins.

Les familles sont des intervenants clés dans ce système. L’engagement des familles au niveau systémique est axé sur les améliorations qui touchent ces réseaux, ces voies d’accès et ces ressources, en plus des améliorations apportées au sein des organismes individuels.

sceau de la norme de qualité pour l'engagement des jeunes


Établir la norme pour l'engagement des jeunes

La poursuite de l'excellence exige que nous définissions l'excellence. En 2018, nous avons commencé à élaborer une norme provinciale de qualité pour l'engagement des jeunes en partenariat avec des jeunes, des familles, des cliniciens et des chercheurs de tout l'Ontario. Maintenant que nous disposons d'une ébauche de norme, nous élaborons des ressources de mentorat et de mise en œuvre pour aider les organismes qui veulent mettre la norme en pratique.

 

Qu'est-ce qu'une norme de qualité?

Une norme de qualité est composée de plusieurs énoncés ou principes de qualité qui décrivent ce que à quoi ressemble la « de haute qualité » selon les données probantes. Elle comprend des pratiques exemplaires et des indicateurs servant à démontrer les progrès réalisés et l'impact de la mise en œuvre de ces pratiques. Les normes de qualité complètent les normes d'accréditation et les lignes directrices relatives aux pratiques cliniques provenant d'organismes professionnels.

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin d'une norme de qualité en matière d'engagement des jeunes?

Au cours des dernières années, un nombre croissant d'organismes ont travaillé sur l'engagement des jeunes, mais il n'y a pas de compréhension commune ou d'ensemble cohérent de pratiques pour refléter ce à quoi cela ressemble, surtout au niveau systémique. Une norme de qualité est essentielle à un système responsable qui ne cesse de s'améliorer. Elle joue également un rôle central pour veiller à ce que les enfants, les jeunes et les familles de l'Ontario aient accès à des services de santé homogènes et de haute qualité, peu importe où ils se trouvent dans la province.

Appuyer les efforts provinciaux d'engagement des jeunes

Grâce à l'énergie et à l'expertise de nos conseillers jeunesse internes et d'autres membres du personnel, nous avons engagé des centaines de jeunes à l'échelle de la province. Nous avons également travaillé avec de nombreux organismes pour renforcer leur capacité à mettre en pratique un engagement constructif des jeunes aux niveaux individuel, organisationnel et systémique.

Les services à la jeunesse intégrés de l'initiative des carrefours bien-être pour les jeunes de l'Ontario

Les services à la jeunesse intégrés de l'initiative des carrefours bien-être pour les jeunes de l'Ontario (CBEJO) est un réseau de guichets uniques où les jeunes de 12 à 25 ans peuvent accéder aux services en santé mentale et en toxicomanie dont ils ont besoin, quand ils en ont besoin. L'engagement des jeunes est un élément essentiel du modèle de CBEJO axé sur les jeunes et élaboré conjointement avec eux. Ce travail est dirigé par le Margaret and Wallace McCain Centre for Child, Youth and Family Health et le Programme de soutien au système provincial de CAMH. Nous nous efforçons d'appuyer l'engagement constructif des jeunes dans les dix carrefours locaux de l'Ontario, ainsi qu'au niveau provincial.

The New Mentality

The New Mentality est un réseau provincial de jeunes et d'alliés qui s'efforcent d'amplifier la voix des jeunes afin d'influencer le changement au sein du système de santé mentale. Nous avons aidé à établir ce réseau en 2007 et, depuis lors, nous travaillons fréquemment avec lui pour promouvoir et améliorer l'engagement des jeunes à l'échelle de la province.

Vous cherchez à susciter l'engagement des jeunes ou à l'améliorer?

Jetez un coup d'œil à la norme de qualité pour l'engagement des jeunes et aux ressources qui l'accompagnent

Communiquez avec notre gestionnaire de l'engagement et des normes.

De la parole à l'action : Une trousse d'outils pour mobiliser les jeunes en santé mentale
Notre trousse d'outils en ligne pour engager les jeunes vous permettra de mieux comprendre ce concept et comment il peut directement bénéficier aux organismes du secteur de la santé mentale des jeunes et des enfants en Ontario. Nous avons conçu cette trousse d'outils pour souligner les avantages des initiatives de mobilisation des jeunes, vous aider à mettre en place de telles initiatives au sein de votre organisme, ainsi que de présenter de nombreuses réussites dans ce domaine à travers la province.

Soutenir les jeunes : Allo J'écoute

Allo J'écoute est une ligne d'assistance téléphonique gratuite et confidentielle à l'intention des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire de l'Ontario. Les appelants peuvent avoir accès à du counselling professionnel anonyme, ainsi qu'à de l'information et à des aiguillages pour des services de santé mentale et de toxicomanie.

Le Centre est l'un des quatre organismes à l'origine du service Allo J'écoute, qui est financé par le ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et du Développement des compétences de l'Ontario. Nous dirigeons le volet évaluation et élaborons des ressources de formation pour le personnel d'Allo J'écoute.