Our strategic advisory council (the Council) provides us with advice, direction and input on strategic plans, partnership initiatives and other high-level operations that advance our work toward achieving our vision, mission and strategic goals.

Member responsibilities

The Council meets four times a year, often in person. Members are committed for a two-year term.
Council duties include:

  • working with our leadership team to set strategic priorities and directions
  • contributing to generative discussions to advance the relevance and impact of our work
  • reviewing and advising on our annual operating plans and budgets
  • reviewing quarterly performance reports
  • providing input into our executive director's performance appraisals

Meet the Council

Council members include:

  • young people with lived experience with mental health challenges or mental illness
  • parents or family members of a child or youth with mental health challenges or mental illness
  • organizational decision makers from the child and youth mental health sector
  • individuals with relevant experience in finance and management

 

Placeholder

 Cathy Curry (Chair)
CHEO Board of Trustees

Cathy Curry holds a BA in English Literature and an MSc in Education. Her considerable experience in education and community building includes time spent as a trustee and chair of the Ottawa Carleton District School Board and director of the Ottawa Carleton Education Network.

As if she wasn't busy enough, Cathy is raising four teenagers. Still, she manages to find the time to travel and play French horn in Kanata's concert band. 

Placeholder

 Alan Leschied, PhD
Psychologist and Professor, 
Western University

Alan Leschied is a founding member of the International Prisons and Corrections Association and an expert in children's legislation and juvenile justice. His work in children's services began in 1977 at the London Family Court Clinic. He has been at Western University for more than 20 years and currently teaches in both the graduate program in counselling psychology and the preservice program in the Faculty of Education. Alan's work focuses on assessing the prevention of childhood sexual abuse in institutions like schools and churches, as well as the trauma concerns of victimization in civil and criminal cases.

Placeholder

 Assia Messaoudi
Youth

Assia Messaoudi is a poet and writer of prose who recently published a book of poetry exploring her personal journey with mental health. She is currently studying English, professional writing and communication at the University of Toronto and plans to pursue a graduate degree in social work. Assia is a co-founder of Stella's Studio, an arts-based mental health group. She offers formal and informal peer support to friends and acquaintances by drawing on her own experiences with mental health struggles.

 

Placeholder

Camille Quenneville 
Chief Executive Officer, 
Canadian Mental Health Association, Ontario Division 

Camille Quenneville is an alumnus of the University of Windsor and the University of Toronto. Prior to joining CMHA Ontario, Camille channeled her passion for mental health care through senior leadership roles in the education, government and children’s mental health sectors. She has served in senior roles at the Ministry of Children and Youth Services, Children’s Mental Health Ontario and the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association. 

Placeholder

 Fae Johnstone 
Youth 

Fae Johnstone (they/them) is a queer nonbinary young person with a passion for youth engagement, mental health and anti-oppression practices. They are a social work student at Carleton University, a board member with the Lesbian, Gay, Bi & Trans Youth Line and an experienced young consultant, facilitator and community organizer. Fae has supported advocacy, social policy and youth-led education initiatives on the local, provincial and national level and they believe deeply in the power of young people to effect system change. 

Placeholder

 Karen Ingebrigtson 
Chief Executive Officer, 
FIREFLY 

Karen Ingebrigtson holds master’s degrees in social work and business administration and is a Certified Health Executive. She has extensive experience in healthcare, having previously worked as a senior consultant for a Local health Integration Network in Ontario and in leadership roles in community health centres in Manitoba. Karen has also been a surveyor for Accreditation Canada, an associate researcher and a lecturer for the eUniversity of Manitoba’s Faculty of Social Work. We hear that back in the day, she was a pretty good Kentucky Fried Chicken cook, too. 

Placeholder

 Leena K. Augimeri, PhD 
Director, Scientific & Program Development, 
Child Development Institute 

Leena K. Augimeri has devoted more than three decades to child and youth mental health and has many prestigious awards boasting of her contributions to the sector, including the Prime Minister’s Regional Social Innovation Award. In addition to her role at the Child Development Institute, Leena is an adjunct professor at the University of Toronto, a prolific academic author and co-founder of SNAP®, a model to help teach effective emotional regulation and self-control to children with serious behaviour challenges and their parents. She is currently leading a multi-million-dollar national implementation strategy to bring SNAP to communities across Canada. 

Placeholder

 Lynn Courey, CSW 
Founder and President, 
Sashbear Foundation 

Lynn Courey studied marketing and entrepreneurship at McGill University before embarking on an award-wining career in child and youth mental health. Lynn is a trained Family Connection Leader representing the National Education Alliance for Borderline Personality Disorder (NEABPD) and a founding member of the Sashbear Foundation. This organization is committed to leading the way to mental health reform by promoting awareness for the need of early prevention, recognition, timely intervention and access to affordable treatment for individuals with emotional dysregulation. Lynn also brings a notable family perspective through her own lived experience. 

Placeholder

 Mari Teitelbaum 
Vice-president of Provincial Programs & Technology and Chief Information Officer, 
CHEO 

Mari Teitelbaum followed a unique path to her current role at CHEO. She first studied electrical engineering before earning a Master of Health Administration from the University of Ottawa. Following her residency, Mari joined BORN Ontario, where she served as director for five years. Mari has a passion for applying technology to improve healthcare systems and help clinicians care for kids in her community. 

Placeholder

 Michael Lafontaine 
Manager, Commercial banking division, 
Toronto Dominion Bank 

Michael Lafontaine holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Laurentian University and has been involved with the Toronto Dominion (TD) bank for close to three decades. Outside of work, he is active in his community, chairing the direct assistance committee of the Kiwanis Club of Ottawa. He also enjoys golfing, travel, fitness and cooking. Michael has been married to his wife, Debbie, for over 25 years and they have two children. 

Placeholder

Vicki Cochrane  
Family member 

Vicki Cochrane is a busy mom of two sons with exceptions that require constant advocacy, resourcefulness and the ability to ask for support when needed. She is driven by the desire to bring a voice of families trying to navigate the child and youth mental health system and the hope of improving it. Vicki is passionate about community development and volunteerism. She also happens to be a child and youth worker with over 20 years of experience working for the Children’s Aid Society.  

Placeholder

 Vicki Downie 
Director of Program Operations, 
Lynwood Charlton Centre 

Vicki Downie has been supporting children, youth and families to achieve better mental health for over 30 years as a staff member at the Lynwood Charlton Centre. Now a director, Vicki is passionate about on-the-ground ways to make program development and evaluation meaningful for staff, and in turn, for children, youth and families.

Notre conseil consultatif stratégique (le Conseil) nous fournit des conseils, une orientation et des commentaires sur les plans stratégiques, les initiatives de partenariat et d'autres activités de haut niveau qui font progresser notre travail en vue de réaliser notre vision, notre mission et nos objectifs stratégiques.

Les responsabilités des membres

Le Conseil se réunit quatre fois par an, souvent en personne. Les membres s'engagent pour un mandat de deux ans. Les fonctions du Conseil comprennent les suivantes :

  • travailler avec notre équipe de direction pour établir les priorités et les orientations stratégiques;
  • contribuer à des discussions génératives pour faire progresser la pertinence et l'impact de notre travail;
  • examiner nos plans et nos budgets d'exploitation annuels et formuler des conseils à ces égards;
  • examiner les rapports trimestriels sur le rendement;
  • contribuer à l'évaluation du rendement de notre directeur général.

À la rencontre de notre Conseil

Les personnes suivantes figurent parmi les membres de notre Conseil :

  • des jeunes qui ont eu une expérience avec des problèmes de santé mentale ou une maladie mentale;
  • des parents ou des membres de la famille d'un enfant ou d'un adolescent ayant des problèmes de santé mentale ou une maladie mentale;
  • des décideurs organisationnels du secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents;
  • des personnes ayant une expérience pertinente en finances et en gestion.

Portrait de Cathy Curry

Cathy Curry (Présidente)

Conseil d’administration de CHEO

Mme Curry est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en littérature anglaise et d’une maîtrise en éducation. Sa vaste expérience dans le domaine de l’éducation et du développement communautaire comprend le temps durant lequel elle a joué le rôle de conseillère scolaire et de présidente du conseil scolaire du district d’Ottawa Carleton et de directrice du réseau éducatif d’Ottawa Carleton.

Comme si elle n’était pas assez occupée, Mme Curry élève aussi quatre adolescents. Malgré tout, elle trouve le temps de voyager et de jouer du cor français dans l’orchestre de Kanata.

Portrait d'Alan Leschied

Alan Leschied, PhD

Psychologue et professeur,
Université Western

M. Leschied est membre fondateur de l’Association internationale des prisons et des services correctionnels (International Prisons and Corrections Association) et spécialiste de la législation relative aux enfants et de la justice pour mineurs. Son travail dans les services à l’enfance a commencé en 1977 à la London Family Court Clinic. Il travaille à l’Université Western depuis plus de 20 ans et enseigne actuellement à la faculté d’éducation dans le cadre du programme d’études supérieures en psychologie du counseling et du programme de formation initiale. M. Leschied centre son énergie sur l’évaluation de la prévention de l’abus sexuel des enfants dans les institutions, comme les écoles et les églises, ainsi que sur les traumatismes liés à la victimisation dans les affaires civiles et pénales.

Portrait d'Assia Messaoudi

Assia Messaoudi

Jeune

Mme Messaoudi est une poète et écrivaine qui a récemment publié un recueil de poésie explorant son parcours personnel en santé mentale. Elle étudie actuellement l’anglais, la rédaction professionnelle et la communication à l’Université de Toronto et prévoit poursuivre des études supérieures en travail social. Mme Messaoudi est cofondatrice de Stella’s Studio, un groupe de santé mentale axé sur les arts. Elle offre un soutien formel et informel par les pairs à ses amis et à ses connaissances en s’appuyant sur sa propre expérience des luttes pour la santé mentale.

Portrait de Camille Quenneville

 Camille Quenneville
Directrice générale, 
Association canadienne pour la santé mentale – filiale de l'Ontario

Mme Quenneville est une ancienne étudiante de l’Université de Windsor et de l’Université de Toronto. Avant de rejoindre CMHA Ontario, Mme Quenneville a exprimé sa passion pour les soins de santé mentale au sein de postes de haute direction dans les secteurs de l’éducation, du gouvernement et de la santé mentale des enfants. Elle a occupé des postes supérieurs au ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, à Santé mentale pour enfants Ontario et à la Ontario Public School Boards’ Association.

Portrait de Fae Johnstone

 Fae Johnstone
Jeune

Fae Johnstone (ne s’identifie pas) est une personne queer non binaire passionnée par l’engagement des jeunes, la santé mentale et les pratiques anti-oppression. Cette personne est étudiante en travail social à l’Université Carleton, membre du conseil d’administration de la Lesbian, Gay, Bi & Trans Youth Line et jeune consultante, animatrice et organisatrice communautaire d’expérience. Fae Johnstone a appuyé des initiatives de défense des droits, de politique sociale et d’éducation dirigées par des jeunes à l’échelle locale, provinciale et nationale, et croit fermement au pouvoir des jeunes de faire changer le système.

Portrait de Karen Ingebrigtson

 Karen Ingebrigtson
Directrice générale,
FIREFLY

Mme Ingebrigtson est titulaire d’une maîtrise en travail social et en administration des affaires et d’un certificat de cadre supérieur en santé. Elle possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine des soins de santé, ayant déjà travaillé comme consultante principale pour un réseau local d’intégration des services de santé en Ontario et comme leader dans des centres de santé communautaire au Manitoba. Mme Ingebrigtson a également été arpentrice-géomètre pour Agrément Canada, chercheuse associée et chargée de cours à la Faculté de travail social de l’eUniversité du Manitoba. On dit qu’à l’époque, c’était aussi une bonne cuisinière chez Poulet frit Kentucky.

Portrait de Leena K. Augimeri

 Leena K. Augimeri, PhD
Directrice, Développement scientifique et développement de programmes,
Institut du développement de l’enfance

Mme Augimeri a consacré plus de trois décennies à la santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents et a reçu de nombreux prix prestigieux qui soulignent sa contribution au secteur, dont le Prix du Premier ministre pour l’innovation sociale régionale. En plus de son rôle à l’Institut de développement de l’enfant, Mme Augimeri est professeure auxiliaire à l’Université de Toronto, auteure universitaire prolifique et cofondatrice de SNAP®, un modèle pour aider à enseigner une régulation émotionnelle efficace et la maîtrise de soi aux enfants ayant de graves problèmes de comportement et à leurs parents. Elle dirige actuellement une stratégie nationale de mise en œuvre de plusieurs millions de dollars visant à mettre en œuvre le modèle SNAP dans des collectivités partout au Canada.

Portrait de Lynn Courey

 Lynn Courey, TSA
Fondatrice et présidente,
Sashbear Foundation

Mme Courey a étudié le marketing et l’entrepreneuriat à l’Université McGill avant de se lancer dans une carrière primée en santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents. Elle est une chef de file formée de Family Connection représentant l’Alliance nationale d’éducation pour le trouble de la personnalité limite (NEABPD) et membre fondatrice de la Fondation Sashbear. Cet organisme s’est engagé à ouvrir la voie à la réforme de la santé mentale en sensibilisant les gens à la nécessité d’une prévention précoce, d’une reconnaissance, d’une intervention opportune et d’un accès à un traitement abordable pour les personnes souffrant de dysrégulation émotionnelle. Mme Courey apporte également une perspective familiale remarquable par son expérience vécue.

Portrait de Mari Teitelbaum

 Mari Teitelbaum
Vice-présidente des technologies et programmes provinciaux et directrice de l’information,
CHEO

Mme Teitelbaum a suivi une voie unique vers son rôle actuel au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO). Elle a d’abord fait des études en génie électrique avant d’obtenir une maîtrise en administration de la santé de l’Université d’Ottawa. Après sa résidence, elle est entrée au service de BORN Ontario, qu’elle a dirigé pendant cinq ans. Mme Teitelbaum est passionnée par l’application de la technologie pour améliorer les systèmes de soins de santé et aider les cliniciens à soigner les enfants de sa collectivité.

Portrait de Michael Lafontaine

 Michael Lafontaine
Gestionnaire, Pôle Banque commerciale,
Banque Toronto Dominion

M. Lafontaine est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Laurentienne et travaille au sein de la banque Toronto Dominion (TD) depuis près de trois décennies. En dehors de son travail, il est actif dans sa collectivité et préside le comité d’aide directe du Club Kiwanis d’Ottawa. Il aime aussi le golf, les voyages, le conditionnement physique et la cuisine. M. Lafontaine est marié à Debbie, son épouse depuis plus de 25 ans et ils ont deux enfants.

Portrait de Vicki Cochrane

 Vicki Cochrane
Member de famille

Mme Cochrane est la mère affairée de deux fils ayant des besoins particuliers qui exigent une revendication constante de leurs droits, de l’ingéniosité et la capacité de demander de l’aide au besoin. Elle est motivée par le désir de faire entendre la voix des familles qui essaient de naviguer dans le système de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents et par l’espoir de l’améliorer. Mme Cochrane se passionne pour le développement communautaire et le bénévolat. Elle est également travailleuse auprès des enfants et des jeunes et compte plus de 20 ans d’expérience au sein de la Société d’aide à l’enfance.

Portrait de Vicki Downie

 Vicki Downie
Directrice des opérations de programme,
Centre Lynwood Charlton

Mme Downie aide les enfants, les jeunes et les familles à améliorer leur santé mentale depuis plus de 30 ans à titre de membre du personnel du centre Lynwood Charlton. Aujourd’hui directrice, elle est passionnée par les façons de rendre l’élaboration et l’évaluation des programmes sur le terrain significatives pour le personnel et, en retour, pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles.