Our family advisory council (Family council) builds on the capacity of family members to improve child and youth mental health across Ontario as active decision makers and partners in our work. The Family council reflects our commitment to meaningful family engagement; we rely on family members' perspectives as well as integral input, expertise and guidance to ensure our policies, approaches, initiatives and other work are responsive to the evolving needs of families.

Member responsibilities

The purpose of the Family council includes:

  • advising on our strategic directions and activities
  • empowering family representatives to lead and inform key decisions in the development, implementation and evaluation of our initiatives
  • building meaningful, professional relationships between council members
  • augmenting the capacity of the Centre's family engagement team by acting as a mechanism for project support, when needed
  • ensuring alignment with our strategic advisory council through consistent family liaison representing both councils

Meet the Family council

The Family council consists of a number of diverse family members from across the province.

Portrait of Britt-Mari Sykes

Britt-Mari Sykes

Britt-Mari Sykes is a career counsellor and author specializing in existential and humanistic psychotherapies. She earned her PhD from the University of Ottawa and, for nearly 20 years, has presented and guest lectured extensively throughout Canada, the United States and Europe on topics including existential analysis, meaningful and fulfilling living and ethics in everyday life. Britt-Mari is actively engaged in the community, including serving as an advisor and committee member for several projects and initiatives at CHEO.

 

Portrait of Damion K. Nurse

Damion K. Nurse

Damion Nurse is a cake artist, owner of the award-winning Toronto-based bakery, Cinnabean cakes and former executive producer of the Canadian television series, ‘da Kink in my Hair. As the father of a teenage son who has experienced mental health challenges since early childhood, Damion has been closely connected with many mental health agencies and has previously served on several advisory committees devoted to child and youth mental health.

 

Portrait of Erica Schumacher

Erica Schumacher

Biography coming soon...

Portrait of Joe Holubowich

 Joe Holubowich

Joe Holubowich works as a peer support facilitator for Parents’ Lifelines of Eastern Ontario (PLEO), does contract work for Able2 and is on his way to becoming a counsellor and psychotherapist. As a foster parent for two children who came into his care with undiagnosed mental health challenges, Joe has first-hand experience of navigating the mental healthcare system and advocating for services through the education system. He also currently sits as a board member for the Royal Ottawa Volunteer Association.

Portrait of Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico is a physiotherapist and mom to three young adults, two of whom have experienced mental health challenges since their teenage years. A huge promoter of family engagement, Kelly-Lynn was instrumental in the establishment of a family advisory committee for the lead agency in her area, served on the planning committee for the FRAYME 2020 conference and currently sits on several local and provincial committees, including the provincial family advisory council for Youth Wellness Hubs Ontario (YWHO).

Portrait of Leslie Kulperger

Leslie Kulperger

Leslie Kulperger has more than 20 years of experience in research, evaluation and management systems. She personally experienced significant gaps in mental health services while trying to access appropriate supports for her 11-year-old son at school and in the community. After he died by suicide in 2018, Leslie founded Myles Ahead in his memory, with the goal of leveraging her professional skills to create meaningful and measurable changes in the mental health and education sectors across Canada.

Portrait of Louise Murray-Leung

Louise Murray-Leung

Louise Murray-Leung is the family engagement lead at the Lynwood Charlton Centre. With a passion born of lived experience caring for loved ones with mental health challenges, Louise has played an important role in amplifying the family voice in child and youth mental health in Ontario. Notably, she was part of the advisory group that helped develop the quality standard for family engagement. She is also a volunteer peer leader with her local chapter of Parents for Children’s Mental Health.

Portrait of Lynn Courey

Lynn Courey

Lynn Courey studied marketing and entrepreneurship at McGill University before embarking on an award-wining career in child and youth mental health. Lynn is a trained Family Connection Leader representing the National Education Alliance for Borderline Personality Disorder (NEABPD) and a founding member of the Sashbear Foundation. This organization is committed to leading the way to mental health reform by promoting awareness for the need of early prevention, recognition, timely intervention and access to affordable treatment for individuals with emotional dysregulation. Lynn also brings a notable family perspective through her own lived experience.

Portrait of Vicki Cochrane

Vicki Cochrane

Vicki Cochrane is a busy mom of two sons with exceptions that require constant advocacy, resourcefulness and the ability to ask for support when needed. She is driven by the desire to bring a voice of families trying to navigate the child and youth mental health system and the hope of improving it. Vicki is passionate about community development and volunteerism. She also happens to be a child and youth worker with over 20 years of experience working for the Children's Aid Society.

Notre Conseil consultatif de la famille (Conseil de la famille) tire parti de la capacité des membres de la famille à améliorer la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes de l’Ontario en tant que décideurs actifs et partenaires de notre travail. Le Conseil de la famille reflète notre dévouement à l’égard d’un engagement significatif des familles; nous comptons sur le point de vue des membres de la famille ainsi que sur leur contribution, leur expertise et leurs conseils pour nous assurer que nos politiques, nos méthodes, nos initiatives et nos autres travaux répondent aux besoins changeants des familles.

Les responsabilités des membres

Les objectifs du Conseil de la famille sont les suivants :

  • donner des conseils sur nos orientations stratégiques et nos activités;
  • offrir la possibilité aux représentants des familles de diriger et d’orienter les décisions clés portant sur le développement, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation de nos initiatives;
  • établir des relations professionnelles significatives entre les membres du Conseil;
  • augmenter la capacité de l’équipe d’engagement des familles en agissant comme mécanisme d’appui au projet, si nécessaire;
  • assurer l’harmonisation avec le Conseil consultatif stratégique par l’entremise d’une liaison familiale cohérente avec les représentants des deux conseils.

Faites la connaissance du Conseil de la famille

Le Conseil de la famille est composé de nombreux de familles diversifiées réparties dans toute la province.

Portrait de Britt-Mari Sykes

Britt-Mari Sykes

Britt-Mari Sykes est conseillère d’orientation professionnelle et auteure spécialisée en psychothérapie existentielle et humaniste. Elle a obtenu son doctorat à l’Université d’Ottawa et, pendant près de 20 ans, elle a donné de nombreux exposés et conférences partout au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe sur des sujets comme l’analyse existentielle, la vie enrichissante et valorisante et l’éthique dans la vie de tous les jours. Britt-Mari joue un rôle actif dans la communauté, notamment en tant que conseillère et membre de comités pour plusieurs projets et initiatives du CHEO.

 

Portrait de Damion K. Nurse

Damion K. Nurse

Damion Nurse est artiste en confection de gâteaux, propriétaire de la boulangerie torontoise primée Cinnabean Cakes et ancienne chef de production de la série télévisée canadienne 'Da Kink in My Hair. En tant que père d’un adolescent qui a connu des problèmes de santé mentale depuis la petite enfance, Damion entretient des liens étroits avec de nombreux organismes de santé mentale et a déjà siégé à plusieurs comités consultatifs consacrés à la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes.

Portrait de Erica Schumacher

Erica Schumacher

Biographie à venir... 

Portrait de Joe Holubowich

Joe Holubowich

Joe Holubowich travaille comme animateur de soutien par les pairs pour la Parents’ Lifelines of Eastern Ontario (ligne d’aide aux parents de l’Est de l’Ontario), fait du travail à contrat pour Able2 (Aptitudes Bienveillance Liberté Engagé) et est en voie de devenir conseiller et psychothérapeute. En tant que parent d’accueil de deux enfants qui lui ont été confiés avec des problèmes de santé mentale non diagnostiqués, Joe a une expérience directe de la navigation dans le système de soins de santé mentale et de la promotion des services par l’entremise du système d’éducation. Il siège également au conseil d’administration de l’association des bénévoles pour Le Royal Ottawa (centre de santé mentale).

Portrait de Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico

Kelly-Lynn Musico est physiothérapeute et mère de trois jeunes adultes, dont deux ont connu des problèmes de santé mentale depuis leur adolescence. En tant que grande militante de l’engagement des familles, Kelly-Lynn a joué un rôle clé dans la création d’un comité consultatif des familles pour la principale agence de son quartier, a fait partie du comité de planification de la conférence FRAYME 2020 et siège actuellement à plusieurs comités locaux et provinciaux, dont le conseil consultatif provincial des familles de l’Initiative des carrefours bien-être pour les jeunes de l’Ontario.

Portrait de Leslie Kulperger

Leslie Kulperger

Leslie Kulperger compte plus de 20 ans d’expérience en recherche, en évaluation et en systèmes de gestion. Elle a personnellement vécu d’importantes lacunes dans les services de santé mentale alors qu’elle essayait d’obtenir du soutien approprié pour son fils de 11 ans à l’école et dans la communauté. Après qu’il se soit suicidé en 2018, Leslie a fondé l’organisation Myles Ahead en sa mémoire, dans le but de mettre à profit ses compétences professionnelles pour créer des changements significatifs et mesurables dans les domaines de la santé mentale et de l’éducation partout au Canada.

Portrait de Louise Murray-Leung

Louise Murray-Leung

Louise Murray-Leung est responsable de l’engagement des familles au Lynwood Charlton Centre. Forte d’une passion née de son expérience vécue de la prise en charge d’êtres chers touchés par des problèmes de santé mentale, Louise a joué un rôle important dans le renforcement de la voix des familles au chapitre de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes de l’Ontario. Elle a notamment fait partie du groupe consultatif qui a aidé à élaborer la norme de qualité pour l’engagement des familles. Elle est également pair animatrice bénévole de sa section locale de Parents for Children’s Mental Health.

Portrait de Lynn Courey

Lynn Courey

Lynn Courey a étudié le marketing et l’entrepreneuriat à l’Université McGill avant de se lancer dans une carrière primée en santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents. Elle est une chef de file formée de Family Connection représentant l’Alliance nationale d’éducation pour le trouble de la personnalité limite (NEABPD) et membre fondatrice de la Fondation Sashbear. Cet organisme s’est engagé à ouvrir la voie à la réforme de la santé mentale en sensibilisant les gens à la nécessité d’une prévention précoce, d’une reconnaissance, d’une intervention opportune et d’un accès à un traitement abordable pour les personnes souffrant de dysrégulation émotionnelle. Mme Courey apporte également une perspective familiale remarquable par son expérience vécue.

Portrait de Vicki Cochrane

Vicki Cochrane

Mme Cochrane est la mère affairée de deux fils ayant des besoins particuliers qui exigent une revendication constante de leurs droits, de l’ingéniosité et la capacité de demander de l’aide au besoin. Elle est motivée par le désir de faire entendre la voix des familles qui essaient de naviguer dans le système de santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents et par l’espoir de l’améliorer. Mme Cochrane se passionne pour le développement communautaire et le bénévolat. Elle est également travailleuse auprès des enfants et des jeunes et compte plus de 20 ans d’expérience au sein de la Société d’aide à l’enfance.